Help & Support
Beginning with academic year Fall 2013-Summer 2014, the entire Moodle server will become an archive server after the end of the Summer semester. The next academic year will be a different server. For example, the Academic Year 2013-2014 sites will be archived at http://ay13.moodle.umn.edu.
Each academic year archive will be available for at least 5 years. Unless hidden by instructors, academic sites will remain available to students. For more information on archives, see Archival Policy.
Academic sites do not automatically become unavailable to students after the semester is over. If you want students to no longer have access to a site, you must hide it from them.
If you have used Moodle grade book, you may want to make a backup of the grades.
If you would like site content from a previous semester copied into this new course, include the URL in the 'URL of Moodle Course to Copy' field on the site request form.
It is not necessary to backup your entire site at the end of the semester, but you may do so if you choose. You must download any backups created and remove the file from the server. Note that backups cannot be opened on your hard drive. They can only be restored into a Moodle site.
See Back Up Content for step-by-step instructions.
Even if you copy over all the content from one site through the site request form, you may want to copy some of the content from another site. If both sites are on the same Moodle server, you can import the content yourself.